en

Mathäi Brut 2013

Wien, Österreich
Mathäi Brut
Variety
Chardonnay

1 Awards

04/2016
Viinilehti 2016
5

Vine origins

Analytical data

Alcohol
12,5% vol
Sugar
8 g/l,
Acid
8,4 g/l

Vinification

Ageing: Bottle fermentation and 24 months’ ageing sur lies; Mathäi Brut from the Klosterneuburg Monastery Wine Estate is produced using the traditional Champagne method.

Wine description

Fine bubbles and stable foam, as well as delicate mature tones and fruit aromas, elegant freshness and a long finish characterise this sparkling wine. Rich extracts on the palate, fine perlage – a sparkling wine to give every celebration that certain something extra.«

Drink recommendations

Serving Temperature: 6–7 °C; Peak Drinking/Maturation Potential: Great to drink young, but also well-suited to several years’ storage.

Other

On the variety and origins of this sparkling wine: The Chardonnay grapes used to make this vintage sparkling wine enjoy the best possible conditions for achieving optimum ripeness at the Monastery Wine Estate’s sites in Lower Austria. Only wine from the first pressing is used to make Mathäi Brut.

Other

Wine Estate of Klosterneuburg Monastery: Since its foundation in 1114 Klosterneuburg monastery has been growing wine and therefore is the oldest wine estate of Austria. With 108 Hectares of vineyards it is one of the country‘s largest and most renowned estates. The vineyards are situated in selected top locations in Klosterneuburg, Vienna, Gumpoldskirchen and Tattendorf. Since the year 2009 it is the first carbon neutral wine estate in Europe.

Other

The sparkling wines of Klosterneuburg Monastery Wine Estate are named after Christoph II. Mathäi. Mathäi – a contemporary of Dom Perignon and provost of Klosterneuburg Monastery from 1686 to 1706 – performed great services toward the development of winemaking in Klosterneuburg. To honour him, the Monastery sparkling wines bear the name »Mathäi«.

About unserwein.at

Your Personal Wine Companion

unserwein.at is your wine cellar and virtual wine advisor, your note book and knowledge advance. Join in, manage your wines and tasting notes. Also find current, complete information - absolutely independent and at first hand.

de

Mathäi Brut 2013

Wien, Österreich
Mathäi Brut
Rebsorte
Chardonnay

1 Auszeichnungen

04/2016
Viinilehti 2016
5
Sparkling Wine of the Year

Standort der Weingärten

Analysedaten

Alkohol
12,5% vol
Zucker
8 g/l,
Säure
8,4 g/l

Kellertechnik

Der Mathäi Brut wird nach der traditionellen Champagner-Methode erzeugt und ist der Premium-Sekt des Weinguts Stift Klosterneuburg. Nur der Wein der ersten Pressung wird für diesen Sekt verwendet. Ausbau: Flaschengärung und 24 Monate Lagerung auf der Hefe.

Weinbeschreibung

In der Nase delikater Duft nach reifen Äpfeln und feinen Hefenoten, am Gaumen komplexe Fruchtaromatik und feine Cremigkeit. Er besticht durch feinperliges, langanhaltendes Mousseux, seine elegante Frische und große Extraktfülle. Ein Sekt mit großer Finesse und langem Abgang.

Trinkempfehlungen

Serviertemperatur: 6–7 °C; Bereitet jung großes Trinkvergnügen, eignet sich jedoch auch für eine Lagerung von mehreren Jahren.

Sonstiges

Zu Sorte und Herkunft dieses Sekts: Die für diesen Jahrgangssekt verwendeten Chardonnay-Trauben sorgen für die besondere Stilistik des Blanc de Blancs.

Sonstiges

Weingut Stift Klosterneuburg: Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1114 betreibt das Stift Klosterneuburg Weinbau und ist damit das älteste Weingut Österreichs. Mit einer Rebfläche von 108 Hektar zählt es zu den größten und renommiertesten Weingütern Österreichs. Die Weingärten befinden sich in ausgewählten Lagen von Klosterneuburg, Wien, Gumpoldskirchen und Tattendorf. Seit dem Jahr 2009 ist es das erste klimaneutrale Weingut Österreichs.

Sonstiges

Die Schaumweine des Stifts Klosterneuburg sind nach Christoph II. Mathäi benannt. Mathäi - ein Zeitgenosse Dom Perignons und von 1686 bis 1706 Propst des Stifts Klosterneuburg - erwarb sich große Verdienste um die Entwicklung des Weinbaus in Klosterneuburg. Ihm zu Ehren tragen die Stiftssekte den Namen Mathäi.

Über unserwein.at

Dein persönlicher Weinbegleiter.

unserwein.at ist dein Weinkeller und virtueller Weinratgeber, dein Notizheft und Wissensvorsprung. Schau rein, verwalte deine Weine und Verkostungsnotizen. Finde außerdem aktuelle, vollständige Informationen - absolut unabhängig und aus erster Hand.