en

Weißburgunder 2016

Wien, Österreich
Weißburgunder
Variety
Weißburgunder
Quality
Qualitätswein

Vine origins

Analytical data

Alcohol
13,0% vol
Sugar level
dry

Harvest

October 2016

Vinification

Skin Contact: 2 hours; Ageing: Stainless steel tank; Bottling Date: February 2017

Wine description

The Weissburgunder impresses by virtue of exotic fruit aromas such as mango and papaya, through a nutty finish and general harmony. The extract-rich body and a finely integrated underlying acidity lend this Pinot blanc elegance and depth.

Drink recommendations

Serving Temperature: 8–10 °C; Peak Drinking/Maturation Potential: The wines of the Stiftswein collection are best enjoyed young.

Food pairings

Asparagus dishes, white meat, freshwater fish and antipasti

Other

On the variety and origins of this wine: From its original home in the vineyards of Champagne and Burgundy, the Weißburgunder (Pinot blanc) grape made its way to Austria, where it is offered ideal conditions by the Klosterneuburg Monastery Wine Estate’s vineyards in Kahlenbergerdorf. Surrounded by the slopes of the Nußberg, the Kahlenberg and the Leopoldsberg and bordered on the east by the Danube, these vineyards produce superior quality year after year.

History

Wine Estate of Klosterneuburg Monastery: Since its foundation in 1114 Klosterneuburg monastery has been growing wine and therefore is the oldest wine estate of Austria. With 108 Hectares of vineyards it is one of the country‘s largest and most renowned estates. The vineyards are situated in selected top locations in Klosterneuburg, Vienna, Gumpoldskirchen and Tattendorf. Since the year 2009 it is the first carbon neutral wine estate in Europe.

Philosophy

The wines bearing the Stift Klosterneuburg crest are the mainstay of our range of wines. Our Stiftsweine (Monastery wines) are youthful, fruity and charac-teristic of their varieties. They elegantly reflect the typicity of the relevant wine-growing region. The grapes used to make them come from various vineyards, but always from one wine-growing location. The Stiftswein collection represents Austrian winemaking tradition in its most enjoyably drinkable form.

About unserwein.at

Your Personal Wine Companion

unserwein.at is your wine cellar and virtual wine advisor, your note book and knowledge advance. Join in, manage your wines and tasting notes. Also find current, complete information - absolutely independent and at first hand.

de

Weißburgunder 2016

Wien, Österreich
Weißburgunder
Rebsorte
Weißburgunder
Qualität
Qualitätswein

Standort der Weingärten

Analysedaten

Alkohol
13,0% vol
Zuckergrad
trocken

Ernte

Oktober 2016

Kellertechnik

Maischestandzeit: 2 Stunden; Ausbau: Edelstahltank; Abfülldatum: Februar 2017

Weinbeschreibung

Der Weißburgunder besticht durch sein vielschichtiges Bukett von reifen Äpfeln und Lindenblüten mit dezenten, exotischen Nuancen. Die gut eingebundene Extraktsüße und seine harmonische Säurestruktur verleihen diesem Burgunder Balance und Ausdruck.

Trinkempfehlungen

Serviertemperatur: 8-10 °C; Bereitet in seiner Jugend das größte Trinkvergnügen.

Speiseempfehlungen

Spargelgerichte, helles Fleisch, Süßwasserfisch und Antipasti

Sonstiges

Zu Sorte und Herkunft dieses Weins: Aus seinen ursprünglichen französischen Anbaugebieten in der Champagne und dem Burgund fand der Weißburgunder seinen Weg nach Österreich. Umgeben von den Hängen des Wiener Nussbergs, Kahlenbergs und Leopoldsbergs und von den klimatischen Einflüssen der Donau begünstigt, werden hier alljährlich beste Qualitäten geerntet.

Geschichte

Weingut Stift Klosterneuburg: Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1114 betreibt das Stift Klosterneuburg Weinbau und ist damit das älteste Weingut Österreichs. Mit einer Rebfläche von 108 Hektar zählt es zu den größten und renommiertesten Weingütern Österreichs. Die Weingärten befinden sich in ausgewählten Lagen von Klosterneuburg, Wien, Gumpoldskirchen und Tattendorf. Seit dem Jahr 2009 ist es das erste klimaneutrale Weingut Österreichs.

Philosophie

Die mit dem Wappen des Stiftes Klosterneuburg gekennzeichneten Stiftsweine sind jugendliche, fruchtbetonte, sortentypische Weine. Elegant geben sie die Typizität des jeweiligen Weinbaugebiets wieder. Ihre Trauben stammen aus verschiedenen Weingärten, immer jedoch aus einem Weinort. Die Stiftsweine repräsentieren die österreichische Weintradition in ihrer trinkfreudigsten Form.

Über unserwein.at

Dein persönlicher Weinbegleiter.

unserwein.at ist dein Weinkeller und virtueller Weinratgeber, dein Notizheft und Wissensvorsprung. Schau rein, verwalte deine Weine und Verkostungsnotizen. Finde außerdem aktuelle, vollständige Informationen - absolut unabhängig und aus erster Hand.