en

Weißburgunder Ried Jungherrn 2016

Wien, Österreich
Weißburgunder Ried Jungherrn
Variety
Weißburgunder
Quality
Qualitätswein

2 Awards

7/2017
Wein Guide 2017/2018
92
92 points
6/2017
2017
4

Vine origins

Analytical data

Alcohol
13,5% vol
Sugar
2,1 g/l, dry
Acid
5,8 g/l

Harvest

October 2016

Vinification

Skin Contact: 4 hours; Ageing: 60 % large wooden casks 40 % stainless steel tank; Bottling Date: April 2017

Wine description

This Weißburgunder (Pinot blanc) is characterised by expressive flavours of ripe apples and hints of pineapple and dry fruit. Elegant extract sweetness, notes of biscuits and juicy body is presented on the palate. This wine impresses with complexity and very good balance with elegant, delineated acid structure.

Drink recommendations

Serving Temperature: 9–10 °C; Peak Drinking/Maturation Potential: Wonderfully drinkable even when young, but also makes an excellent mature wine.

Food pairings

Smoked fish, baked and deep-fried veal.

Other

On the variety and origins of this wine: The Weißburgunder found its way to Austria from its original growing areas in the French regions of Champagne and Burgundy. The variety particularly prefers warm areas and deep, fertile soil. The Jungherrn vineyard, nestled among the hills surrounding Vienna, offers the Weißburgunder precisely these optimal conditions on the steep slopes of the Leopoldsberg.

Other

Wine Estate of Klosterneuburg Monastery: Since its foundation in 1114 Klosterneuburg monastery has been growing wine and therefore is the oldest wine estate of Austria. With 108 Hectares of vineyards it is one of the country‘s largest and most renowned estates. The vineyards are situated in selected top locations in Klosterneuburg, Vienna, Gumpoldskirchen and Tattendorf. Since the year 2009 it is the first carbon neutral wine estate in Europe.

Other

What makes our single-vineyard wines stand out is the particular choice of hand-picked grapes. The wine is made from grapes grown in individual vine-yards with a long tradition, and the Klosterneuburg Monastery Wine Estate has been cultivating some of the individual sites for centuries. A highly selective and target-ed harvest ensures the ripest of grapes, while the process of ageing the wines – done partly in small wooden casks – guarantees that they can be stored for several years while maintaining their high quality.

About unserwein.at

Your Personal Wine Companion

unserwein.at is your wine cellar and virtual wine advisor, your note book and knowledge advance. Join in, manage your wines and tasting notes. Also find current, complete information - absolutely independent and at first hand.

de

Weißburgunder Ried Jungherrn 2016

Wien, Österreich
Weißburgunder Ried Jungherrn
Rebsorte
Weißburgunder
Qualität
Qualitätswein

2 Auszeichnungen

7/2017
Wein Guide 2017/2018
92
92 Punkte
6/2017
2017
4
Goldmedaille

Standort der Weingärten

Analysedaten

Alkohol
13,5% vol
Zucker
2,1 g/l, trocken
Säure
5,8 g/l

Ernte

Oktober 2016

Kellertechnik

Maischestandzeit: 2 Stunden; Ausbau: 60 % großes Holzfass, 40 % Edelstahltank; Abfülldatum: April 2017

Weinbeschreibung

Dieser Weißburgunder präsentiert sich durch ein ausgeprägtes Bukett nach gelben Äpfeln und zarten exotischen Fruchtanklängen – nach Ananas und Trockenfrüchten. Am Gaumen zeigt er sich durch elegante Extraktsüße mit einem Hauch von Biskuit und saftiger Konsistenz. Seine Komplexität und sein Finessenreichtum in Kombination mit harmonischem Säurespiel zeichnen diesen opulenten Burgunder aus.

Trinkempfehlungen

Serviertemperatur: 9–10 °C; Jung wunderbar zugänglich, präsentiert sich aber auch als hervorragender Altwein

Speiseempfehlungen

Geräucherter Fisch, gebratenes und gebackenes Kalbfleisch.

Sonstiges

Zu Sorte und Herkunft dieses Weins: Aus seinen ursprünglichen Anbaugebieten in der Champagne und dem Burgund fand der Weißburgunder seinen Weg nach Österreich. Die Sorte bevorzugt besonders fruchtbare und tiefgründige Böden. Die von den Wiener Hausbergen umgebene Lage Jungherrn bietet dem Burgunder exakt diese – und damit optimale – Voraussetzungen.

Sonstiges

Weingut Stift Klosterneuburg: Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1114 betreibt das Stift Klosterneuburg Weinbau und ist damit das älteste Weingut Österreichs. Mit einer Rebfläche von 108 Hektar zählt es zu den größten und renommiertesten Weingütern Österreichs. Die Weingärten befinden sich in ausgewählten Lagen von Klosterneuburg, Wien, Gumpoldskirchen und Tattendorf. Seit dem Jahr 2009 ist es das erste klimaneutrale Weingut Österreichs.

Sonstiges

Die Lagenweine des Stifts zeichnen sich durch die besonders sorgfältige Auswahl des von Hand gelesenen Traubenmaterials aus, welches aus stiftseigenen Einzellagen mit langer Tradition stammt – manche dieser Rebflächen bewirtschaftet das Weingut Stift Klosterneuburg schon seit Jahrhunderten. Eine selektive und gezielte Ernte garantiert Beeren von höchster Reife, der Ausbau – zum Teil im kleinen Holzfass – schafft langlebige Weine mit kräftiger Statur.

Über unserwein.at

Dein persönlicher Weinbegleiter.

unserwein.at ist dein Weinkeller und virtueller Weinratgeber, dein Notizheft und Wissensvorsprung. Schau rein, verwalte deine Weine und Verkostungsnotizen. Finde außerdem aktuelle, vollständige Informationen - absolut unabhängig und aus erster Hand.