en

Grüner Veltliner 2016

Niederösterreich, Österreich
Grüner Veltliner
Variety
Grüner Veltliner
Quality
Qualitätswein

1 Awards

7/2017
Wein Guide 2017
89
89 points

Vine origins

  • City

    Klosterneuburg, Niederösterreich

    Soil Type: Weathered sandstone soil with a loess top layer; Slope Face: Southeast; Elevation: 190–220 meters

Analytical data

Alcohol
12,5% vol
Sugar
1,0 g/l, dry
Acid
5,7 g/l

Harvest

October 2016

Vinification

Ageing: Stainless steel tank; Bottling Date: February 2017

Wine description

A slightly spicy aroma of citrus, green apples and pepper, of medium strength in terms of body and with a harmonious spicyness.

Drink recommendations

Serving Temperature: 8–9 °C; Peak Drinking/Maturation Potential: This Grüner Veltliner is best enjoyed within the next 3 years.

Food pairings

Light salads, fish, beef dishes and Schnitzel.

Other

On the variety and origins of this wine: The Monastery’s vineyards in Klosterneuburg are located on both terraces and steeply sloping ground. With their favourable microclimate, these hillsides along the Danube offer the Grüner Veltliner, the most important Austrian grape varieties, excellent conditions and produce wines of impressive quality year after year.

Other

Wine Estate of Klosterneuburg Monastery: Since its foundation in 1114 Klosterneuburg monastery has been growing wine and therefore is the oldest wine estate of Austria. With 108 Hectares of vineyards it is one of the country‘s largest and most renowned estates. The vineyards are situated in selected top locations in Klosterneuburg, Vienna, Gumpoldskirchen and Tattendorf. Since the year 2009 it is the first carbon neutral wine estate in Europe.

Other

The wines bearing the Stift Klosterneuburg crest are the mainstay of our range of wines. Our Stiftsweine (Monastery wines) are youthful, fruity and charac-teristic of their varieties. They elegantly reflect the typicity of the relevant wine-growing region. The grapes used to make them come from various vineyards, but always from one wine-growing location. The Stiftswein collection represents Austrian winemaking tradition in its most enjoyably drinkable form.

About unserwein.at

Your Personal Wine Companion

unserwein.at is your wine cellar and virtual wine advisor, your note book and knowledge advance. Join in, manage your wines and tasting notes. Also find current, complete information - absolutely independent and at first hand.

de

Grüner Veltliner 2016

Niederösterreich, Österreich
Grüner Veltliner
Rebsorte
Grüner Veltliner
Qualität
Qualitätswein

Standort der Weingärten

  • Ort

    Klosterneuburg, Niederösterreich

    Bodenbeschaffenheit: Sandsteinverwitterungsboden mit Löss- und Lehmauflage; Seehöhe: 190-220 Meter

Analysedaten

Alkohol
12,0% vol
Zuckergrad
trocken

Ernte

Oktober 2016

Kellertechnik

Ausbau: Edelstahltank; Abfülldatum: Februar 2017

Weinbeschreibung

In der Nase frische, lebendige Apfelfrucht mit feinen Aromen nach Grapefruit. Am Gaumen präsentiert dieser frisch-fruchtige Veltliner ein elegantes, lebhaftes und trinkanimierendes Pfefferl.

Trinkempfehlungen

Serviertemperatur: 8-9 °C; Bereitet in seiner Jugend das größte Trinkvergnügen.

Speiseempfehlungen

Sommerliche Salate, Fisch, Rindfleischgerichte und Gebackenes

Sonstiges

Zu Sorte und Herkunft dieses Weins: Der Grüne Veltliner ist die österreichische Parade-Rebsorte und macht ein Drittel der Rebfläche des Landes aus. Unsere Grünen Veltliner-Weingärten liegen in Klosterneuburg mikroklimatisch begünstigt, entlang der Donau und am Beginn des Weidlingtales, einem Seitental der Donau. Dort finden die Trauben optimale Bedingungen für die Aromenausprägung vor.

Sonstiges

Weingut Stift Klosterneuburg: Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1114 betreibt das Stift Klosterneuburg Weinbau und ist damit das älteste Weingut Österreichs. Mit einer Rebfläche von 108 Hektar zählt es zu den größten und renommiertesten Weingütern Österreichs. Die Weingärten befinden sich in ausgewählten Lagen von Klosterneuburg, Wien, Gumpoldskirchen und Tattendorf. Seit dem Jahr 2009 ist es das erste klimaneutrale Weingut Österreichs.

Sonstiges

Die mit dem Wappen des Stiftes Klosterneuburg gekennzeichneten Stiftsweine sind jugendliche, fruchtbetonte, sortentypische Weine. Elegant geben sie die Typizität des jeweiligen Weinbaugebiets wieder. Ihre Trauben stammen aus verschiedenen Weingärten, immer jedoch aus einem Weinort. Die Stiftsweine repräsentieren die österreichische Weintradition in ihrer trinkfreudigsten Form.

Über unserwein.at

Dein persönlicher Weinbegleiter.

unserwein.at ist dein Weinkeller und virtueller Weinratgeber, dein Notizheft und Wissensvorsprung. Schau rein, verwalte deine Weine und Verkostungsnotizen. Finde außerdem aktuelle, vollständige Informationen - absolut unabhängig und aus erster Hand.